Wollondilly Shire Council is introducing a trial wood chipping service starting from Autumn, available at four locations: Appin, Bargo, Picton, and Warragamba.

This free service, running from April to December 2024, targets residents with an existing domestic waste service. It aims to facilitate the disposal of larger vegetation, such as tree branches and shrubs, as part of bushfire preparation, yard maintenance, and land regeneration efforts.

Wollondilly’s Mayor Matt Gould said that the trial, initiated based on resident feedback, will be accessible within a 30-minute drive for most residents.

“The aim of the wood chipping service is to help residents undertake bushfire preparation, general yard and property maintenance or land regeneration, as well as removal of woody weed species such as African Olive or Privet,” he added.

The service will be managed by council tree contractors, who reserve the right to refuse unsuitable materials. Accepted items include branches, trunks, and large shrubs meeting specified criteria.

However, certain items such as tree stumps, vines, and garden weeds will not be accepted. Residents are advised to wear protective gear due to potential dust and noise.

Bookings are necessary due to limited capacity. Call 4677 1100 or visit www.wollondilly.nsw.gov.au/waste-services/wood- chipping-service/

Check Council’s Tree Management page for information about approvals for tree removal. The trial locations are as follows:

  • Appin AIS Sportsground, Sportsground Parade, 8:00am – 3:00pm Monday 8 April, Saturday 13 July, Saturday 7 September 2024
  • Bargo Sportsground, Radnor Road, 8:00am – 3:00pm Saturday 4 May, Wednesday 11 September, Saturday 19 October 2024
  • Picton Sportsground, Fairleys Road, 8:00am – 2:00pm Tuesday 11 June, Thursday 8 August 8.00am – 3.00pm Saturday 28 September, Thursday 12 December
  • Warragamba Waste Management Centre site, Production Avenue, 8:00am – 3:00pm Saturday 27 July, Friday 27 September, Saturday 16 November.