Three of the area’s brightest young students will be supported in their studies by the Campbelltown City Council scholarships.


ayesha Ganem, Iesha Gavaghan and Zahraa Alkhafaji are the recipients of this year’s scholarships to study at Western Sydney University (WSU).

 The scholarships are named in honour of former General Manager Ian Porter, former Mayor Brenton Banfield and long-serving former Director of City Works John E Hely and have been awarded for 15 years now.

“We want our local students to be studying in this area and these scholarships provide the opportunity for some of our outstanding young people to do just that,” Mayor George Brticevic said.

Ian Porter Scholarship winner Kayesha Ganem (left);
Brenton Banfield Medical Scholarship winner Iesha Gavaghan with Campbelltown Mayor George Brticevic (top)

Scholarship winners are selected by a panel of representatives from Western Sydney University and Council based on a written application, academic potential and their performance in an interview with the panel.

Kayesha Ganem was both “incredibly delighted and grateful” to win the Ian Porter Scholarship.

“As I spend the next five years learning how to treat patients, I will never forget the importance of a doctor’s relationship with their local community,” said Brenton Banfield Medical Scholarship winner, Iesha Gavaghan.

Mayor Brticevic said Council was proud to support the education of local students and looked forward to seeing their contributions to the local community in the future.