Two Campbelltown teachers are among the 13 proud recipients of the 2024 Premier’s Teacher Scholarships presented earlier this week.

Karen Norris and Simone Etcell of Campbelltown Performing Arts High School were praised by NSW Department of Education Secretary, Murat Dizdar as “outstanding educators who are transforming the lives of students.”

Scholarship recipients each received between $10,000 and $15,000 for a five-week study tour.

Ms Norris received the Premier’s Vocational Education Scholarship to study igniting excellence and empowering vocational education for dynamic futures in Singapore and Australia.

Ms Etcell received the Premier’s History Teachers Association History Scholarship to study the ethics of historical perspectives, narratives and displays in museums in the UK, Egypt and Australia.

The scholarship program is open to all NSW teachers from government and non-government schools and preschools, as well as teachers at TAFE NSW institutes.

Mr Dizdar said the scholarships provided an excellent opportunity for teachers to collaborate with other world-class educators and expand their own knowledge and expertise.

“I’m proud of our public school educators in NSW who are deeply committed to ensuring our 800,000 students belong, succeed and thrive in public schools,” he said.

“These scholarships are a great opportunity for our outstanding educators to continue to develop their skills and achieve the best learning outcomes for our students.”

The 2024 corporate sponsors for the scholarships included the Anika Foundation, Hicksons Lawyers, History Teachers Association of New South Wales, NSW Education Standards Authority, Reserve Bank of Australia, Teachers Mutual Bank, University of New South Wales (School of Education) and University of Sydney (Faculty of Science).